Men's Golf

Tech Golf Hosts Squire Creek Invitational Monday, Tuesday

Sept. 28, 2011

RUSTON - Head coach Jeff Parks and the Louisiana Tech Bulldog golf team will host the 2011 Squire Creek Invitational Monday and Tuesday at Squire Creek Golf Course in Choudrant.

The Bulldogs will look to defend their team title after capturing the event last year with a come-from-behind one stroke victory over Southeastern Louisiana. It was the first of two team titles that Louisiana Tech captured last season.

This year's 13-team field includes Central Arkansas, Jackson State, Jacksonville State, Louisiana Tech, McNeese State, Nicholls State, Rice, Sam Houston State, Southeastern Louisiana, Southern Miss, Stephen F. Austin, Troy and UMKC. Louisiana Tech, LSU and Central Arkansas will also have individual players competing in the tournament as well.

The 54-hole event will begin Monday morning with an 8 a.m. shotgun start as the competitors will play two rounds of golf at the beautiful Squire Creek Golf Course (7,105 yards, Par 72). The event will then conclude Tuesday with an 8:30 a.m. shotgun start for the final 18 holes of play.

This year will mark the eighth year of the event, which is free and open to the public. Spectator carts will not be available during Monday's two rounds but should be available for Tuesday's final round.

Prior to the tournament, Tech will host its annual College AM on Sunday afternoon. The event will consists of a total of 20 four-person teams playing a scramble format. Each four-person team will be joined by an outstanding college golfer representing the 12 teams competing in the LA Tech Squire Creek Invitational.

Entry fee for the tournament is $200 per player and all proceeds from the tournament will go to support the Louisiana Tech golf program. Each participant in the tournament will receive a Louisiana Tech logoed polo golf shirt, dinner at Squire Creek following the event and a chance to play for flight prizes.

Anyone interested in playing in the event should contact Jeff Parks at 318-245-8211 or email

Tournament History

2004 Squire Creek Champions Team: Texas Arlington Individual: Louisiana-Monroe's Casey Russell (213)

2005 Squire Creek Champions Team: Ole Miss Individual: Texas Arlington's Zac Reeves (211)

2006 Squire Creek Champions (Rain-shortened) Team: Sam Houston State Individual: South Alabama's Johnny Caldwell (67)

2007 Squire Creek Champions Team: Ole Miss Individual: Louisiana Tech's Matthew Harvey (209)

2008 Squire Creek Champions Team: New Orleans Individual: Nevada's Taylor Coffman (207)

2009 Squire Creek Champions Team: New Orleans Individual: Southeastern Louisiana's Cedric Scotto (210)

2010 Squire Creek Champions Team: Louisiana Tech Individual: Southeastern Louisiana's Horacio Leon (208)

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned