Stephen Warner Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

May 25, 2012

NEW YORK - Louisiana Tech center Stephen Warner has been named one of 50 players to the Rimington Trophy Spring 2012 Watch List.

There are 50 players listed in all while 21 return from the 2011 Watch List. Warner is one of three Western Athletic Conference players to be named to the 2012 Spring Watch List along with Utah State's Tyler Larsen and Idaho's Mike Marboe.

Warner is also one of three players from the state of Louisiana to be named to the 2012 Spring Watch List along with LSU's P.J. Longergan and Louisiana-Lafayette's Andre Huval.

The Rimington Trophy was first awarded in 2000 and TCU's Jake Kirkpatrick has been the only recipient from a non-BCS school, winning the award in 2010.

Along with the two WAC centers from Utah State and Idaho, Louisiana Tech will face three other Watch List members this fall: Texas A&M's Patrick Lewis, Illinois' Graham Pocic and UNLV's Robert Waterman.

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:

* American Football Coaches Association

* Walter Camp Foundation

* Sporting News

* Football Writers Association of America

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two Centers. The policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the four All American teams.

The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the Center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 12, 2013.

About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The twelve-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised nearly $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

About the NCFAA

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,

For complete coverage of Bulldog Football, please follow @LATechPWalsh on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned