@LATechFB Places 12 on Phil Steele's Preseason All-Conference Teams

June 3, 2014

CLEVELAND, Ohio - Highlighted by running back Kenneth Dixon and Illinois transfer and defensive end Houston Bates, Louisiana Tech placed 12 players on the Preseason All-Conference USA Teams as announced Tuesday by Phil Steele's 2014 College Football Preview.

Dixon and Bates were Louisiana Tech's first team honorees while cornerback Le'Vander Liggins and kicker Kyle Fischer garnered second team honors.

Louisiana Tech had four Bulldogs earn third team honors on the preseason team including defensive end Vontarrius Dora, linebacker Mitch Villemez, cornerback Adairius Barnes and punter Logan McPherson.

Wide receiver Paul Turner, offensive tackle Mitchell Bell, defensive tackle Vernon Butler and linebacker Terrell Pinson all earned fourth team preseason honors.

Louisiana Tech opens the season on Aug. 30 at Oklahoma as the Bulldogs kickoff the second year under head coach Skip Holtz.

The Bulldogs first home game is set for Sept. 20 as Tech will host Northwestern State at Joe Aillet Stadium at 6 p.m.

Season tickets are currently on sale with packages as low as $90. To purchase your season tickets, please contact the LA Tech Ticket Office at 318-257-3631, via email at or online at

For complete coverage of Bulldog Football, please follow @LATechFB on Twitter or visit the official home of Louisiana Tech Athletics at

Phil Steele's 2014 Preseason All-CUSA Team


1st TEAM

2nd TEAM

3rd TEAM

4th TEAM


Rakeem Cato, Marshall

Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion

Jaquez Johnson, Florida Atlantic

Jameill Showers, UTEP


Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech

Jordan Parker, Middle Tenn

Jordan Howard, UAB

Jowan Davis, Rice


Steward Butler, Marshall

Aaron Jones, UTEP

Leon Allen, WKU

Antoinne Jimmerson, N Texas


Tommy Shuler, Marshall

William Dukes, Florida Atlantic

Angelo Jean-Louis, Marshall

Marcus Henry, Middle Tenn


Jordan Taylor, Rice

Larry Pinkard, Old Dominion

Willie McNeal, WKU

Dennis Parks, Rice


Jamarcus Nelson, UAB

Antonio Vaughan, ODU

Markese Triplett, Southern Miss

Paul Turner, Louisiana Tech


Mitchell Henry, WKU

Kennard Backman, UAB

Jonnu Smith, FIU

Eric Tomlinson, UTEP


Chris Jasperse, Marshall

Nate Leonard, UTSA

Kaydon Kirby, North Texas

Braden Lyons, Florida Atlantic


Cyril Lemon, North Texas

Scott Inskeep, UTSA

Fred Moore, Southern Miss

Drew Carroll, Rice


Mason Y'Barbo, North Texas

Nico Carlson, Rice

(OT) Cameron Clemmons, WKU

Jordan Budwig, FIU


Darius Johnson, Middle Tenn

Antonio Johnson, North Texas

Clint Van Horn, Marshall

Forrest Lamp, WKU


Caleb Williams, Rice

Cody Harris, UTSA

Sebastian Johansson, Marshall

Mitchell Bell, Louisiana Tech


1st TEAM

2nd TEAM

3rd TEAM

4th TEAM


Houston Bates, Louisiana Tech

Gary Thompson, Marshall

Cody Rogers, UTSA

Vernon Butler, Louisiana Tech


James Rouse, Marshall

Ashaad Mabry, UTSA

Trevon Coley, Florida Atlantic

Patrick McNeil, Middle Tenn


Christian Covington, Rice

Brandin Bryant, Florida Atlantic

Adam Williams, Southern Miss

Stuart Mouchantaf, Rice


Ra'Shawde Myers, Marshall

Robert Singletary, UTSA

Vontarrius Dora, Louisiana Tech

Dylan Bradley, Southern Miss


TT Barber, Middle Tenn

Diaheem Watkins, UAB

DJ Hunter, Marshall

Reece Schmidt, Old Dominion


Jermaine Holmes, Marshall

Evan McKelvey, Marshall

Christian Henry, Middle Tenn

James Radcliffe, Rice


Andrae Kirk, Florida Atlantic

Nic Johnston, UTSA

Anthony Wallace, North Texas

Jake Ganus, UAB


Derek Akunne, North Texas

Terrick Wright, Southern Miss

Mitch Villemez, Louisiana Tech

Terrell Pinson, Louisiana Tech


Bryce Callahan, Rice

Le'Vander Liggins, La Tech

Kenny Buyers, North Texas

Bennett Okotcha, UTSA


D'Joun Smith, Florida Atlantic

Cam Thomas, WKU

Adairius Barnes, Louisiana Tech

Darryl Roberts, Marshall


Kevin Byard, Middle Tenn

Julius White, Rice

Lairamie Lee, North Texas

Justin Halley, FIU


AJ Leggett, Marshall

Triston Wade, UTSA

Christian Milstead, FAU

Taj Letman, Marshall


1st TEAM

2nd TEAM

3rd TEAM

4th TEAM


Ty Long, UAB

Kyle Fischer, Louisiana Tech

Garrett Schwettman, WKU

Austin Taylor, FIU


Hunter Mullins, UAB

Sean Kelly, Florida Atlantic

Logan McPherson, La Tech

Blake Macek, North Texas


Autrey Golden, UTEP

Deandre Reaves, Marshall

Reggie Whatley, Middle Tenn

Jamarcus Nelson, UAB


Kenny Harrison, UTSA

Jamarcus Nelson, UAB

Bryce Callahan, Rice

Richard Leonard, FIU

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned